top of page

PASS the Matzah OVER.

Pesach - the festival of freedom.

Next year in Jerusalem - the verse that we chant after every seder and place that we yearn to be for Pesach.. I got pretty close to it this year.

This year I spent my seder in Rishon LeZiyyon with my Abba's side of the family. What made this seder different from all other seders? This seder had a Troplitan touch to it with many different customs being carried through the family tree dating back to my grandfather's country of origin - Tripoli, Libya.

We each had a turn to carry home-made matza on our shoulders around the long and lively rectangular table while everyone sang 'Ha-Lachma'. We imitated how Bnei Yisrael were slaved in Egypt and how we celebrate being free now. I was also introduced to another custom where the seder basket is circled above everyone's head, it can protect them from all harm and a long list of blessings will come upon them.

Another custom was giving the youngest kids the responsibility of looking after the Afikoman till the time of hiding to keep them awake and entertained till the end. The entire night was lively and the customs, songs, and foods helped create that sense of being there.

I spent Motzei Pesach in Jerusalem with a close friend so I was able to soak in the Pesach Mashiach (last day of Pesach) in Yerushalayim.

*The image featured was not taken by me*

What also made Pesach in Israel great was the absolute ease of keeping it! From Kosher for Pesach Laffas, to Burgers to Pizzas and Rolls - we were had an absolute feast!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page