top of page

1 Suitcase, 1 direct flight, a Once in a lifetime opportunity.

Start: The 6th of February 2014.

For years I waited for the moment that I could put my earphones in and take-off to my favourite place in the world - Israel - with my 'Take Me Away' playlist to accompany me.

I am currently enrolled on a 5 month internship program with Career Israel in a marketing position at Radvision/Avaya in North Tel Aviv. My view outside my office window is a constant reminder of the image that I would dream of. A panoramic view of a city and country that I love. For years, in job interviews a common question was always 'Where do you see yourself in 5 years?'. My answer was always the same: 'An office with a window view of the city in a place that makes me happy'. I guess I can say this is only the beginning of my 5 year plan panning out and the future only continues to excite me!

When I'm not at work - I take every opportunity that I can to explore and expose myself to Tel Aviv and its surrounding areas and expand into the rest of this exquisite country. There is an intangible feeling of independence that I have found in Israel. I am independent in so many different aspects of my life:

A constant and blatant thought that I am constantly faced with is the difference in lifestyles between my hometown of Johannesburg, South Africa to my home country Israel.

One of the biggest independence factors for me is simply just being able to walk around and commute freely. Back in South Africa, we are imprisoned to being locked in our cars, even for a 5 minute drive.

Public transport was definitely not something I used in South Africa, I mean why would I anyway when I have my own car, but the comfort of bussing and training around Israel is completely different. Although it is sometimes frustrating when the bus hasn't arrived when you need it and takes longer routes than cars, I have found a type of comfort in taking a 10 minute walk to the bus stop and bussing for 30 to 40 minutes to and back from work. Striking up short conversations with other passengers, asking for directions and even those that go out their way to show you the way.

Another big independent step, that I would say I transitioned into very quickly, was not having my domestic helper to clean up after me. It was now up to me to clean my room, the kitchen, the dishes, the bathroom, living with 3 roommates, cook for myself, do my laundry, mop up after showering, waiting 40 minutes for the water to heat up, grocery shopping, bargaining in the shuk, taking out the trash. The most amazing lesson in this new transition is that I still have not found myself ever complaining about any of it! (My mom would be so proud ;)).

Living in Tel Aviv without my immediate family with me has also left me with making decisions (from small to big) by myself and assess the situation on the spot.

I also have found a new type of independent and introspective thinking. I visit the beach as often as I can to journal my experiences and take some time off to take in the beautiful life I have been blessed with thus far. Having the beach as a close backyard to watch the sunset as I take a run every now and then is an awesome feeling beyond one that I have felt in South Africa.

Another side of independence that I feel in Israel, is my religious freedom. I feel a strong connection to this country as a Jewish state. Seeing the guy wrapping tefillin and praying in his fruit shake shop and the construction worker saying tehillim while drilling the ground are moments that you will only see in this Jewish state. The excitement for Shabbat as it is the weekend and all public transport comes to a halt creates a unifying awareness that it is Shabbat, the Day of Rest. Looking for a kosher restaurant is extremely easy all over Israel compared to the selection of the 5 or 6 that we have in Johannesburg.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page